I Can’t Avoid Grief

The last two days I couldn’t breathe. Tears came when I watched a comedy on television. Unaware at the time of what it was, I surfed ads for a puppy. Or, make that two puppies. Two dogs in the house would be good. They’d fill the quiet with laughter. Maybe I should sign up for a class. Where could I go? What could I do? What could I get? Then I woke to this meme on Facebook. Today, I won’t think about any of those things. They are all part of the avoidance of my grief. It’s only been a week since my daughter’s memorial service. It feels like a lifetime ago. It seems like yesterday. It feels bad. But today, I will endure. I will accept the new me, a new life, that won’t include her.

3 thoughts on “I Can’t Avoid Grief

Leave a Reply

